DIARY

I'll figure out a better layout for this later. sorry if courier new is a little bit unreadable in the bigger paragraphs.

3.07.2024
1.16.2024
1.10.2024

GWAR

3.07.2024

Currently: listening to I, Bonesnapper by GWAR

 Went to see GWAR the other day! First (real) concert I've ever been to! Which may or may not be a good thing because I don’t think any other musician will be able to live up to the level of performance that GWAR gives. They are incredible live. 10 out of 10 would go again. It was awesome being able to see the costumes, skits, and all the blood and gore in person. They really put a lot of love into their craft and performance.

During I'll Be Your Monster

 The new lead guitarist Grodius Maximus is good! (guy on the far right) It was a running gag throughout the show that the rest of the band thought he was the previous lead guitarist, Pustulus Maximus, despite the miscellaneous characters that would show up and be like "hey Grodius my main man what's up," and then of course proceed to get killed in some manner.

During Sick of You

 Got seats right at the front of the balcony and had a clear view of the crowd below moshing and getting sprayed with blood and other bodily fluids. Tons of people entered the venue wearing white shirts, and by the end of the show they were completely drenched in red. At one point a guy who was crowdsurfing fell into the security area in front of the stage and supposedly dislocated his knee when he tried to jump the barrier back into the crowd. The band paused after they finished their song to make sure he wasn't seriously injured. He ended up getting carried off by two of the security guys. Hope he's alright!


Balsac the Jaws o' Death hyping up the crowd before Immortal Corrupter

 I also got this kickass shirt as an early birthday present. It's got all the tour dates on the back and it glows in the dark! I am wearing it as I write this.

New shirt ft. Venus wondering where I'd been all night




Snow day

1.16.2024

Currently: watching Awesome Games Done Quick 2024

 Finally got a decent amount of snow for the first time in like 2 or 3 years! It's only like 3 inches, but it's better than nothing I suppose. Enough to get me out of work! I've really missed seeing everything white. It's nice. I feel bad for the kids who, in the past few years, haven't gotten to experience a real snow day until now. And it's depressing knowing that some of them are too young to even know what that felt like! I remember when I was still in school, some years we'd get so much snow, all of the allotted snow days would get used up, so they'd have to tack on days to the end of the school year.

 I took Venus for a walk out in the woods while I went to retrieve my trailcam. She has not been happy about the snow situation, but I think she had fun having me watch her bound around in the snow.

salt your stink miss?

 Last month I set the trailcam up in front of this huge stump in my woods. The colder months typically have less activity in general, so I try to put the cam in areas that I think may have more animals passing through. This stump has more squirrels than any other location I've put the cam before. I've gotten more squirrel pics than deer pics here, which is unheard of. I'll try to get those photos uploaded to /trailcam within the week! Here's a sneak peak with 2 points of view:






First entry

1.10.2024

Currently: listening to Rudy by Supertramp

 My dad and I spent a while taking apart my car for 2 reasons:
  1. removing the passenger door A-pillar to
   A. fix a leak by replacing the clips that hold it on
   B. to repaint it because the current paint looks like crap.
  and 2. to attempt to fix a dent on the side of the car. (Not caused by me if you were wondering. It came with the car when I bought it.)

More complicated than you'd think to dismantle
 The dent didn't really get fixed because the root cause of the dent is located in a sweet spot that's near impossible to reach. The dent is a little bit better that it was before, but it's definitely still there. I'll probably have to take it to an actual dent repair person who knows what they're doing.

 The A-pillars on the other hand are coming along smoothly! The passenger side one was miles easier to remove than the driver's side that we removed last week. This time we understood what we were doing and also had the service book open telling us exactly what to do. (what a novel concept, following the directions. who would've thought.)

Unrelated to the A-pillar removal, but I just thought this page in the service manual was cool. It’s like if an engineer made a style guide. Wait. Well. Hm. You know what, that’s literally what it is. I’m just realizing this as I’m saying it out loud.
 Now what's left for me to do is give both A-pillars a bath and sand off the paint. The paint's supposed to be delivered by the end of the week. I made sure to get enough paint to also be able to paint the hood of the car, which sat in the sun for so long that the original paint looks terrible. Can't wait to see how she looks with the new paintjob.


 I was locked in my chair for hours reading this webcomic? visual novel? Collage? I don't even know what to call it. 17776. What football will look like in the future. It's SO SO cool and creative. The whole story, how the formatting contributes to the storytelling, the writing. I don't know if I've ever felt so engaged reading something before. The characters are so effortlessly developed; more-so than characters I see on most TV shows or movies. Even minor characters who you only meet for a chapter, they're written in such a way that you know what they're about through just a few paragraphs. I feel privileged to have viewed a multimedia collage so delicately and lovingly crafted. It's such a unique concept and an incredibly inspiring piece of art.